Archive

Archive for January 6, 2014

International Jazz Sensation “Jimena Bautista” Swings with the United Nations Across The Border

January 6, 2014 1 comment

Story Credit: Nathan James.
“I was singing before I started speaking”, says Jimena Bautista, a young jazz vocalist from Mexico who has been enthralling international audiences with her unique sounds and style, “when I was 2, my family already had recordings of me. I was completely amazed and dazzled by Michael Jackson’s Beat It.”  With the knowledge that music was her passion, even at that early age, Jimena’s path was set out before her.  Born in Mexico City and raised in Cancun, it soon became clear that Jimena had inherited the talent that ran in her family.  Her father, who played with the notable pop band Mister Loco, won accolades such as “World’s Most Popular Song” at the Yamaha contest in Tokyo during 1975, for Lucky Man. Following her education at a British private school, where she became bilingual,  Jimena was eager to follow in his footsteps.  “By the time I was 13 or 14, it was a different world for me.  When I first heard Manhattan Transfer, I knew I wanted to do jazz,” she recalls.  “I was also inspired by Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holliday, Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington’s orchestra.  This is how I got started in the music industry–it was a little difficult for me at the beginning.”  Read more…

Hold Yourself Accountable!

January 6, 2014 4 comments

Hold Yourself Accountable! – Daily Word January 6, 2014     
TO HEAR THE AUDIO VERSION OF THE DAILY WORD ** Read more…
