Home > Just So You Know > Pop-Soul Crooner RUSSELL TAYLOR Announces Release of New Album “War of Hearts”

Pop-Soul Crooner RUSSELL TAYLOR Announces Release of New Album “War of Hearts”


  photo rusell-taylor-the-industry-cosign-war-of-hearts-june-24-2014_zps1ff7a333.jpg photo rusell-taylor-the-industry-cosign-releases-his-album-war-of-hearts-june-24-2014_zpsb4c49a0f.jpg


As emerging artists with diverse musical influences and incredible talent, Russell Taylor is the embodiment of what the ‘You Oughta Know’ franchise is all about.” – Music and Programming, VH1,

Russell Taylor, is the next generation of great tune makers.” – The Huffington Post

Russell Taylor, has long been considered a best-kept secret of NYC’s indie scene” – Ebony.com




New York, NY – May 15, 2014 – Pop-Soul Crooner and VH1’s latest “You Oughta Know Artist“, RUSSELL TAYLOR announces the release of his upcoming third album, “War of Hearts”. #WOH will be released on Tuesday, June 24, 2014, via all digital music retail outlets.


On this journey, I have had some really tough lessons about the variable definition of friendship and family, recovering from broken promises, the importance of accepting imperfections and the truth about love & its bipolar tendencies,” mentions Russell.

Little did I know that I was also setting out to find myself; a self that I never knew needed to be found.   All of my life I have followed a perceived blueprint to success: go to school, get good grades, go to church, get a job(s) make some money and be a good man.  Follow this path and it will yield you happiness abound.  That is my ideal heart.  But, unfortunately, the same paradigm doesn’t apply to a successful life in the creative arts.  There is no blueprint–no real plan.  In my creative path, I am selfish, I am hotheaded, my life is unpredictable & my love is jagged & irrational. This is my artist heart; authentically imperfect”, he adds.

I have been at war with myself for so long but didn’t know it.  And realistically, this war will probably never end.  But at least now I can acknowledge that it exists.  Knowing is half the battle.  You, I, we saved me…in this War of Hearts,” concludes Russell.


WAR OF HEARTS Album Tracklisting:

  1. Electric
  2. Let Me Love You
  3. What She Wants
  4. War of Hearts
  5. Blueprint
  6. Foolish Heart
  7. Proud
  8. Carry You
  9. Can’t Cry
  10. Ghetto Street USA
  11. Hope


Russell Taylor is currently enjoying the success of the smash debut single “War of Hearts” and the follow up second single, “Electric”. Being named one of VH1’s 2014 YOU OUGHTA KNOW ARTIST, Russell Taylor joins the likes of Adele, Bruno Mars, Lorde’ and many more.





* VH1 “Big Morning Buzz Live” Performance/Interview – http://on.vh1.com/1b9JvYq


* VH1 STOP/WATCH (:60 seconds) Performance brought to you by STARBUCKS


WAR OF HEARTS Music Video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHy-AHo_OvM


* The single “War of Hearts” currently on VH1’s + Music Playlist

* AT&T featured National commercial for single “War of Hearts” (Airing now)

* “War of Hearts” featured on The N’s DEGRASSI New Generation (current Season)

* “War of Hearts” Featured on VH1’s Black Ink Show

*  “War of Hearts” currently playing on Centric TV Playlist

* “War of Hearts” Featured on ABC Family “The Fosters” (current season)

* Russell Taylor featured performance on SiriusXM (The Heat – Channel 51)



Real artistry is about peeling back the layers of your soul and allowing the creative truth to take form. Russell Taylor taps into that creative space and unlocks a masterpiece in his latest musical offering, War of Hearts, on his own Indigo Blue label.


Far from a novice in the music game, Russell – a self-professed nomad – has poured out his heart and soul on the world stages, including stops in London, Amsterdam and Paris as well as famed stateside venues from The Mint and The Roxy in Los Angeles to SOB’s and Joe’s Pub in New York.  Russell’s previous offerings Somewhere In Between (2007) and Confessional, a Soultracks.com ‘must have records’ (2010) – are sprinkled with gentle gems that have satisfied the appetites of music lovers worldwide.



Russell’s (aka Rt!) 3rd studio album “War of Hearts”, includes collaborations with Grammy award winning producer Needlz (Lil’ Wayne, Bruno Mars, Swizz Beats), Tim Kvanosky of Tiny Hearts and Salakida Kali. In early 2014, Russell Taylor becomes the first to win the coveted “You Oughta Know” distinction after beating over four hundred competitors in VH1’s first ever crowdsourced contest on Artists.VH1.com, VH1’s music discovery site and join the ranks of famous “You Oughta Know” alumni including Adele, Bruno Mars, Ed Sheeran, Lorde’, The Lumineers, Mumford & Sons and many more.   “As emerging artists with diverse musical influences and incredible talent, Russell Taylor is the embodiment of what the ‘You Oughta Know’ franchise is all about”, said Rick Krim, EVP Music and Talent Programming, VH1.


This ‘multi-genre-influenced’ soul-singer embraces the beautiful imperfections of his voice. “I have a pretty good range,” admits Russell. “It’s gravelly and [in the past] I didn’t like the sound of that. But the producers that I am working on with this album were like, ‘That’s what makes your voice beautiful. It’s dope! Push it! It’s genuine and authentic.


Russell’s creativity is not just relegated the musical genre; The Great White Way has called as well. Russell makes his Broadway directorial debut in Gems for one night only, November 8. 2012. This multi-hyphenate has also directed plays including For Colored Girls (New School University) as well mentoring urban youths of color in the arts.

Additionally, Russell has shared the stage with major artists from Mary J. Blige, Jill Scott and India.Arie, to legends Isaac Hayes and Patti LaBelle; an amazing fete for an independent artist.


Real and honest are the elements that define the essence of War of Hearts and Russell has created the album he was born to make.



Website – www.RussellTaylor.net

Facebook – www.facebook.com/RussellTaylor

Twitter – @RsoulStar

Instagram – @RSoulStar


Hashtags – #souljers #Vh1 #yok #russelltaylor #warofhearts #yououghtaknowartist #vh1soul #vh1music #independentartist #june24th #624 #thirdalbum #electric #itunes #amazon #cdbaby #summeralbum

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: